Daphne in the garden of Celesteville

Daphne

One beautiful morning day while daddy and mommy is still sleeping, a little girl Daphne wakes up early and walks into a garden in front of the house. She always come to play in the garden by herself. The garden full of flowers such as red roses, white lilies, purple irises, and blue hydrengeas. Birds and butterflies that come to get the nectar from the flowers are her friends.

But today she notices someone standing under a big gardenia tree at the corner of the garden. “Hello, who are you?” Daphne asks.

“Good morning, I’m Babar, and who are you?” Babar replies and asks the girl.

Babar

“Good morning, I’m Daphne. I live here. This is my house. What are you doing in my garden?” Daphne asks.

“This is the garden of Celesteville. You are in my land now, Daphne. And I am practicing yoga.” Babar says.

“No, this is my ….” Daphne says.

“Would you like to join me? I can teach you some poses.” Babar doesn’t give the girl any chance to argue.

Eventhough she doesn’t know what yoga is, but Daphne is the girl who enthusiastic to learn something new. She agrees to practice yoga with Babar.

“Before we start, you need to take your shoes off.” Babar tells the girl.

“But, you don’t.” Daphne sees Babar wears the shoes.

“I’m an elephant. We always put the shoes on even during practicing yoga. For human, you do yoga with your bare feet. Now, shall we begin?” Babar explains and starts.

Tree pose

“Start with Mountain pose. Stand evenly on your feet, then bring the feet together and straight your legs. Keep the stomach in. Extend the side of your trunk, lift your chest up, roll the shoulder back and down. Straighten your arms down and then look forward.” Daphne follows Babar’s instructions carefully. “You doing good, Daphne. Let’s continue to the next pose.” Babar says.

“Stand firmly on your left foot, turn your right leg out, bend the right knee and place the right heel at the top of the left thigh. Join the palms together in front of the chest. Stay for a few seconds, breathing deeply. Then put the palms down, straighten the right leg and stand in Mountain pose. Do the pose again, but change the side of the leg by standing on the right leg, and placing the left heel on the right thigh”.

“Very good, Daphne.”

The girl smiles then asks, “What is this pose called?”

“It’s called Tree pose.” Babar answers. “I think this is enough for you today, but keep practice.”

“I like yoga. Can you teach me again tomorrow?” Little Daphne asks.

“Of course.” Babar answers.

“Daphne, Daphne. Where are you?” Pamy’s voice.

“That’s my mom. She is looking for me. I have to go. See you tomorrow, Babar.” Daphne says.

“This is my land, don’t you remember. Namaste.” Babar says.

“Namaste.”  Daphne replies.

“Daphne, wake up my dear.” Pamy talks to her daughter.

“Mommy, I am practicing yoga with Babar in the garden.” The little girl opens her eyes and tells her mother.

“Oh, you dream again Daphne.” Pamy says.

This entry was posted in Yoga Bag and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daphne in the garden of Celesteville

  1. Supinda says:

    So cute.. Can u make another for me?

  2. Mei says:

    Daphne would be very happy to read this story about her & Babar…but unfortunately she still not able to read it…which means her daddy John will have to read the story for her…… ^^

Leave a comment